Current mood: Landslide, a Stacey Kent cover

I took my love and took it down
I climbed a mountain and I turned around
And I saw my reflection in the snow-covered hills
Till the landslide brought me down

Oh, mirror in the sky, what is love?
Can the child within my heart rise above?
Can I sail through the changing ocean tides?
Can I handle the seasons of my life?

Well, I’ve been afraid of changing
‘Cause I’ve built my life around you
But time makes you bolder
Even children get older
And I’m getting older too

Good poet, good song, is one that could be interpreted in different ways, I’ve heard. This Fleetwood Mac’s song is one of them. I could interpret the song at least in three ways.

It is about my biggest fear of not being able to go for an MBA cause of my silly past academic record (college students, work hard and prioritization begins since college, else your punishment is lifetime) and cause of the overwhelmingly expensive education cost. It is about my fear of being forever alone when friends and relatives are married or gone. It is about my fear of leaving (simply anything). It is about my fear of facing the (already) complicated and uncertain life that somehow lately is full of daunting intimidation and competition. And obviously…it is about my broken hearts.

But well.. Time makes you bolder, even children get older, and I’m getting older too.

2 thoughts on “Current mood: Landslide, a Stacey Kent cover

Leave a Reply

